

JOHNSON COUNTY COMMISSIONERS COURT

ristopher Boedeker
County Judge
Rick Bailey
Commissioner
Precinct 1

Kenny Howell Commissioner Precinct 2 Mike White Commissioner Precinct 3 Larry Woolley Commissioner Precinct 4

THE STATE OF TEXAS
\$ RESOLUTION
COUNTY OF JOHNSON
\$

A RESOLUTION BY JOHNSON COUNTY COMMISSIONERS COURT OPPOSING THE FORMATION OF MUNICIPAL UTILITY DISTRICTS

WHEREAS, Johnson County is one of the fastest-growing communities in the State of Texas, with nearly half a million residents projected within the next 30 years; and

WHEREAS, the rapid growth of Johnson County is driven by families withdrawing from the urban density of the Dallas-Fort Worth metroplex in search of a more rural setting in which to reside; and

WHEREAS, Johnson County Commissioners desire to promote quality development and sustainable property values for these new residents while maintaining the community's historic values and culture; and

WHEREAS, the County Commissioners Court must uphold a productive workforce, sound economic development, a low crime rate, and a flourishing education system for the community; and

WHEREAS, the proliferation of Municipal Utility Districts, which incentivize highdensity housing without local input, threatens sustainable development in Johnson County; and

WHEREAS, Municipal Utility Districts are created by the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ), which is governed by unelected administrators in Austin who do not consult with local development and city planning prior to approval of proposed Districts; and

WHEREAS, experience has proven that the TCEQ approves virtually every Municipal Utility District, often appointing the original applicants as unelected board members - a clear conflict of interest; and

WHEREAS, the Johnson County Commissioners' Court has been left to sort out the impact of high-density development on county roads and bridges, flood control, public safety, and the justice system; and

WHEREAS, local residents are forced to pay a permanent utilities assessment to Districts that strain local resources, yet they lack the means to govern the Districts through local elections.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that we, the Commissioners of Johnson County:

Affirm that Johnson County citizens should be able to guide the development of housing and business in their own community and must be directly represented by their representative Commissioners in the creation of Special Districts that use or influence their local resources and tax levy; and

Oppose the creation of any new Municipal Utility Districts in Johnson County without Commissioners Court approval; and

Request that the Texas Senate Committee on Water, Agriculture, and Rural Affairs reform the way that Municipal Utility Districts are created, whether administratively or legislatively, and provide for greater transparency and local input.

RESOLVED THIS 24TH DAY OF APRIL, 2023.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, we hereto set our hands and cause the Seal of Johnson County, Texas to be affixed on the 24th day of April, 2023.

19h Roll	
Christopher Boedeker, Johnson County Judge	
yoted: <u>√</u> yes, _	_ no, abstained
	Lan House
Rick Bailey, Comm. Pct. 1	Kenny Howell, Comm. Pct. 2
Voted: yes,no, abstained	Voted: no, abstained
Mehe White	Jarrel Coulles
Mike White, Comm. Pct. 3	Larry Woolley, Comm. Pct. 4
Voted: yes, no, abstained	Voted: √ yes, no, abstained
ATTEST: April Long, County Class County Clas	